Syntax Creative Clients Receive 28 Nominations at 2022 IBMA Awards

July 27, 2022

The SiriusXM Nashville studio was yesterday’s scene for the nominations announcement ahead of the upcoming annual 2022 IBMA Awards, ceremonies, and World of Bluegrass event weekend September 27 – October 1, 2022 in Raleigh, NC.

In total, artists comprising rosters from Syntax Creative’s bluegrass clientele—including Mountain Home Music Company, Pinecastle Records, Mountain Fever Records, and Dark Shadow Recording—received 28 out of the 86 possible nominations for this year’s award celebration. For those into statistics, that’s an astounding 33% of overall nominations going to an artist distributed by Syntax Creative.

Even more impressive, 100% of the nominations for the New Artist of the Year category are Syntax-distributed artists. Rick Faris and Laura Orshaw (Dark Shadow Recording), and Fireside Collective, Jaelee Roberts, and Tray Wellington (Mountain Home Music Company). “This is especially exciting news,” said Syntax Creative VP of Marketing Kevin Sparkman. “To not only sweep an entire category, but to work with clients that represent both the history and future of a genre takes the entire cake.”

Mountain Home Music Company artists Sister Sadie (Gena Britt, Hasee Ciaccio, Mary Meyer, Deanie Richardson, Jaelee Roberts) are up for Entertainer of the Year Award. Others in this category include The Po’ Ramblin’ Boys (featuring Laura Orshaw), and last year’s winner, Billy Strings.

More clients nominated for this year’s IBMA Award include:

  • Balsam Range (Mountain Home), Sister Sadie | Vocal Group of the Year
  • Danny Paisley & Southern Grass (“Blink of an Eye”) [Pinecastle], Rick Faris (“Deep River”),
  • Chris Jones & The Night Drivers (“Riding the Chief,” click “play” above to stream on this page) [Mountain Home] | Song of the Year
  • Danny Paisley & Southern Grass (Bluegrass Troubador) | Album of the Year
  • Dale Ann Bradley (“In the End”) [Pinecastle], Rick Faris (“See You on the Other Side”), The
  • Grascals (“Traveling the Highway Home”) [Mountain Home] | Gospel Recording of the Year
  • Scott Vestal (“EMD”) [Pinecastle] | Instrumental Recording of the Year
  • Dale Ann Bradley feat. Danny Paisley (“One by One”) | Collaborative Recording of the Year
  • Rick Faris, Danny Paisley | Male Vocalist of the Year
  • Dale Ann Bradley | Female Vocalist of the Year
  • Gena Britt, Kristin Scott Benson (Mountain Home), Scott Vestal | Banjo Player of the Year
  • Jason Moore (Mountain Home) | Bass Player of the Year
  • Deanie Richardson | Fiddle Player of the Year
  • Phil Leadbetter (Mountain Home), Justin Moses (Mountain Fever) | Resophonic Guitar Player of the Year
  • Cody Kilby (Pinecastle) | Guitar Player of the Year
  • Alan Bibey (Mountain Fever) | Mandolin Player of the Year

The IBMA Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the professional nonprofit association for the bluegrass music industry. The results of the balloting will be revealed at the IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards on Thursday, September 29, 2022 at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts in Raleigh, North Carolina.