Music Release



Six Degrees of Separation

Pinecastle Records




Greenville, South Carolina


After much anticipation, Wilson Banjo Co. is excited to release their brand new record, Six Degrees of Separation. Available via Pinecastle Records, the project includes 12 new recordings, led by banjo extraordinaire Steve Wilson. The collection also features a star-studded lineup of guest artists performing throughout.

After working for years as a celebrated custom banjo builder and seasoned recording engineer, Steve Wilson has worked with the best of the best in the American Roots music world. That influence is on full display, as indicated by the who’s-who roster of artists featured on Six Degrees of Separation. Guests performing on the record include Michael Cleveland, Richard Bennett, Dale Ann Bradley, Alan Bibey, Shawn Lane, Deanie Richardson, Gena Britt, Clay Hess and many more. Also singing lead vocals on seven cuts is Wilson Banjo Co.’s Sarah Logan.

The first taste of the new record came in the form of lead single, “Wrong Turn That Led Me To You.” Written by Steve Wilson and Britany Wilson, the track features lead vocals by Colton Rudd. Wilson Banjo Co. followed that with the second single “Midnight on the Highway,” a unique take on a classic Hot Rize song (co-written by Tim O’Brien). The current single is the edgy and haunting recording, “When the Crow Comes Down.” Written by Jordan Rainer, Kevin Brandt and Tristen Smith, the group is excited to reveal the official video for the song in the next few weeks, which was recently shot in South Carolina.

Steve Wilson has been kicking his promotional efforts into high gear during the album lead-up. In addition to gracing the cover of the latest issue of the Banjo Newsletter, he also gave fans an inside glimpse of what to expect on the record. Americana Highways gave fans an exclusive world premiere of another cut from the project, “Long Hard Day,” written by Toby Lightman. The track features lead vocals from Logan; Richard Bennett on guitar; Jason Fraley on lead mandolin; Milom Williams on rhythm mandolin; Tony Wray on banjo; Glen Crain on dobro; Ethan Burkhardt on bass; and Grayson Lane and Steve Wilson on harmonies.

About the focus track, “Long Hard Day” | Complete with that familiar and haunting bluegrassy timbre and subject manner, “Long Hard Day” comes by way of Wilson Banjo Co.’s latest full-length, Six Degrees of Separation. Displaying exceptional musicianship, vocal-work, and songwriting, this focus track encompasses the overall mood and feel of the entire set, with themes of reckoning, regret, reconciliation, and revival—this album will be a sure-fire hit with acoustic music fans of all walks of life.


Wilson Banjo Co. is led by banjoist Steve Wilson, who brings not only craftsman-link musicianship, but is also a renown custom banjo maker. Additionally, Wilson is head engineer for Pinecastle Music's stuido–parent company for Wilson Banjo Co.'s label Pinecastle Records and Bonfire Recording Company—and has presided over recordings for GRAMMY-nominated artist Dale Ann Bradley, and countless other genre-leading groups and artists in bluegrass and acoustic music


  1. When the Crow Comes Down
  2. Midnight on the Highway
  3. The Ambassador
  4. Issaqueena
  5. Colors of My Life
  6. She is a Gambler
  7. Just a Few More Miles
  8. Old Fashioned Ways
  9. Autumn Leaves
  10. Wrong Turn That Led Me to You
  11. Long Hard Day
  12. Long Hard Day (Alternate Cut)


Bluegrass, playlist, streaming, acoustic music, Syntax Creative - image