New Music Friday — May 22, 2020

May 22, 2020

DARYL MOSLEY | The Secret of Life

Bluegrass; Pinecastle Records – STREAM / BUY album

The wait is finally over, as Bluegrass hitmaker Daryl Mosley releases his much-anticipated debut solo album, The Secret Of Life. Released via Pinecastle Records, the project includes 11 new recordings, each spotlighting the singer’s world-class vocals, and also highlighting Mosley’s award-winning songwriting. The full collection was co-produced by Danny Roberts (The Grascals).

The lead single is the full-circle anthem “A Few Years Ago.” Penned by Mosley, the track celebrates a life well spent, reflecting back on the past. The song has already struck a chord, recently being featured in publications like The Bluegrass Situation, who showcased the single. The official video was also unveiled earlier this month as part of a multi-faceted premiere on both The Heartland Network and Americana Highways online.





With the rollout of the record, Mosley’s extensive career has been one of the main focuses. Known for his prolific storytelling ability, the chart-topper has quickly captured the hearts of music fans. In addition to penning tracks by artists Lynn Anderson, Bobby Osborne, Josh Williams, the Booth Brothers and Carolina Blue, the singer has also seen great success performing as a member of the celebrated Bluegrass band New Tradition. He was also a co-founder of the “Entertainer of the Year” winning group, The Farm Hands. Recent features have put his three decade career on full display, in profile pieces in Hallels and Bluegrass Today where he opened up about The Secret Of Life.

“Glad to see Daryl stepping out front and center with his first solo project of more top notch and heartfelt originals. This record is just what bluegrass music needs right now more than ever,” says fellow Bluegrass mainstay Irene Kelley. Jeanette Williams agrees, stating that “Daryl Mosley’s songs are like a heartfelt conversation with a cherished friend. Each track on his new project ‘The Secret Of Life’ offers a glimpse of real life that speaks to the soul.”

The reviews are already pouring in from multiple publications. Music Matters Magazine calls the record “a collection driven by sincere, compelling storytelling built on a solid bluegrass foundation.” ParcBench calls the project “a comforting blend of country and bluegrass, with a bit of gospel that will soothe whatever your day brings,” while the Midwest Record Entertainment says The Secret Of Life is “killer stuff custom made of any fan of top shelf songwriting.” No Depression writes “Mosley’s warm vocals, his knack for telling a great story, guest vocalists, and his band’s straight-ahead, waste-no-notes tunes propel the album, delivering comfort and down-home advice and reflections. There’s no secret at all here about Mosley’s affection for a good song well-played.”

To keep up with all things Daryl Mosley, visit his official website While there, music enthusiasts can purchase music, find the latest news stories, upcoming tour dates and more.

The Secret Of Life Track Listing:
1. A Few Years Ago (Daryl Mosley)
2. The Secret Of Life (Daryl Mosley)
3. In A Country Town (Daryl Mosley)
4. Hands In Wood (Daryl Mosley)
5. It Never Gets Old (Daryl Mosley)
6. Do What The Good Book Says (Daryl Mosley/Rick Lang)
7. All The Way Home (Daryl Mosley)
8. A Piece At A Time (Daryl Mosley)
9. The Deal (Daryl Mosley)
10. I’d Write You (Daryl Mosley)
11. Heartaches Moving In (Daryl Mosley/Danny Roberts)

THE CHITANS | “Set Apart” & “Jesus is Moving”

Southern gospel; Horizon Records — STREAM / BUY singl “Set Apart” & “Jesus is Moving” singles

The Chitans’ music is always expressive, and always rooted in faith and tradition. This is evidenced in two new songs — “Set Apart” and “Jesus Is Moving” — the first releases from the group after signing with Horizon Records.

Kaiziah, Kayandra, Jesse, Jayden and Karlainah Chitan and their parents, Layne and Karen, spend most of the year traveling the world and serving the communities they stop in through ministering in churches, hospitals, nursing homes, senior homes, community centers, prisons, slums and on the streets—and though they’re based in Canada, the foundation of their musical ministry is the Southern Gospel style they’ve listened to all their lives.




For their Horizon debut releases, the group has selected two songs that reveal how deeply they have taken the message—and the sounds—of Southern Gospel to heart. On both, the refreshing, youthful sincerity of Kaiziah and Kayandra’s voices are front and center, framed by piano, organ, and sibling harmonies as they deliver timeless lessons in faith.

In “Set Apart,”—the group’s radio single—The Chitans sing of being molded by God to spread the gospel through their actions.

“These days, it’s becoming easier to be like the world and to try to fit in,” they say. “But, God has set us apart to be a peculiar people, a holy nation, a royal priesthood. When somebody sees us, they should be able to identify us as Christians, by our actions, words and our deportment. We accept this song as a challenge and a goal. A challenge to let God mold us into who He wants us to be and a goal to live a life that glorifies our Maker.”

The soulful “Jesus Is Moving,” describes how life changing knowing Jesus can be, especially during times of struggle.

“‘Jesus Is Moving’ is such a powerful reminder. It doesn’t matter what you’re facing or what you’re going through, Jesus is moving in our direction to be everything that we need,” say The Chitans. “It’s amazing to think that ‘the King of all glory’ is mindful of us. He cares enough to pass by and take care of each one of us. In such a time as this, it is such a great promise.”

With both of these songs, The Chitans’ broad influences are heard, but Southern Gospel and the message it serves remain at the core—a theme The Chitans continue whether they’re belting out an up-tempo song of joy, or offering a contemplative ballad.

The release of “Set Apart” and “Jesus Is Moving” comes a week before The Chitans will be hosting a worldwide day of worship through music and prayer on May 30.

Also titled Jesus Is Moving, the live-streamed worldwide event hosted by The Chitans will feature artists Brian Free and Assurance, The Talleys, The Whisnants, The McNeils from the United States; LYNC, The Cuffeys, Paschal Kalumbi, Tiffany Campbell-Dailey Smith from Canada; The Foster Triplets from Jamaica; Xclusive from South Africa and many others to be announced. Fans can tune in throughout the day on The Chitans’ website, YouTube and Facebook.


Jazz; J-JAMS Records — STREAM / BUY single

Johnny Britt is a multi-talented singer, songwriter, producer, trumpeter, arranger and composer with an impressive list of recording and performance credits including The Temptations, Chuck Mangione, Luther Vandross, Harry Styles, Annie Lennox, Peabo Bryson, Micheal Bolton among many others. As a solo artists, Britt has earned three #1 Billboard Contemporary Jazz Singles, one an original composition that remained in the top position for 8 consecutive weeks.



Southern gospel; Godsey Media — STREAM / BUY single


RIVER’S EDGE | Beyond Measure

Southern gospel; Godsey Media — STREAM / BUY single



VP of Communications and Marketing at Syntax Creative.